Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

Standard

Tonight I am taking a meal to friends of mine who just had a baby boy less than a week ago.  I wanted to include dessert.  I had some oatmeal on hand and decided to make cookies so I googled vegan oatmeal cookies and came across this site:  http://parispastry.blogspot.com/2010/08/vegan-oatmeal-cookies.html

I adapted them to ingredients I had on hand and they are incredible.

Vegan Oatmeal Cookies Recipe: adapted from Alicia Silverstone – The Kind Diet

Ingredients:
– 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
– 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
– ⅓ cup maple sugar (white sugar or brown sugar can be substituted)
– 2 tsp. baking powder
– 1 tsp. baking soda
– ¼ tsp. fine sea salt
– ⅓ cup organic maple syrup
– ½ cup safflower oil (or canola oil)
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract (I used our own homemade vanilla extract)
– 1 tsp. cinnamon
– ¼ cup chopped dried fruit, like raisins or plums

Instructions:
– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
– In large mixer add the oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Then add the syrup, oil and vanilla extract. Incorporate ingredients using a low setting on the mixer.  Then gently mix/fold in the dried fruit.
– Using your hands, roll tablespoon-size scoops of dough into balls. Place the balls onto the prepared baking sheet and press down slightly on the balls to flatten the tops. Bake for about 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Transfer cookies to a baking rack to cool completely.
– For variety, replace the all-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour, barley flour, spelt flour, or a gluten-free baking mix (choose one that does not include baking soda and baking powder). You can also substitute vegan chocolate chips for the dried fruit and add nuts to this.  Walnuts would be incredible in this recipe.


About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

