Ranch Dip (or Dressing)

Standard

Last Monday, my Aunt Carolyn and Uncle Ray gave me some beautiful large scallions out of their garden.  I am not typically a green onion fan, but this week I found a wonderful use for them.  A while back my husband and I were watching Claire Robinson on Five Ingredient Fix, a cooking show, when she made a ranch dressing with just 5 ingredients.  Well this recipe is inspired from that one.  Simple yet refreshingly lovely.  I serve it with fresh raw veggies like:  broccoli, carrots, celery, cauliflower, tomatoes, yellow summer squash, zucchini, etc.

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of Vegan Sour Cream* (for dressing use Vegan mayonnaise instead)
  • Fresh Scallions (I used 3 or 4 really big ones) coarsely chopped
  • 2 or 3 cloves of garlic (peeled)
  • Dill Weed
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Lemon Juice

In a food processor pulse together the garlic cloves and green onions.  Then fold into the sour cream.  Add other ingredients to taste.  Serve immediately.

*You can either buy Vegan Sour Cream or you can make your own:

Homemade Vegan Sour Cream:

  •   1 package of silken tofu
  •     1 tablespoon canola or olive oil
  •     4 to 5 teaspoons lemon juice
  •     2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  •     1 teaspoon stevia
  •     1/2 teaspoon salt

Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender.  Blend for several minutes, until very creamy and smooth.  Then refrigerate.  In addition to being a great base for the above ranch dip (or dressing), it is also great in mexican dishes and as a topper for baked potatoes.  It stays fresh for approximately 5 days.  (The homemade vegan sour cream recipe is adapted from Matt Eberhart.)

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

