Bistecca all Pizzaiola (“Steak” with tomatoes and garlic)

Standard
A few years back my husband and I went to share a romantic dinner in a restaurant in Ocala, FL called Felix’s.  As you walk into the first floor of this beautiful old home, the lights are dimmed.  There is a very old world feel.  This place was one of those places that still served table side Banana’s Foster.  One of their specials that night was Bistecca all Pizzaiola. Bistecca all Pizzaiola is simply a really flavorful cut of steak with a chunky tomato and garlic sauce.  This recipe is inspired from that.  Chris and I made this last night.  Did not manage to get pics this time.  I just could not wait to dig in, and it surely did not disappoint.
Ingredients:
  • Vegan Steak Strips
  • Olive Oil (or grape seed oil)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 cans of tomatoes
  • Oregano
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
Directions:
For the Pizzaiola:  Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat.  Remove from heat and add the cloves of garlic.  Cook for about 30 to 45 seconds.  You are infusing the olive oil with the garlic.  At this point you can opt to leave the garlic in or remove the garlic.  I choose to remove it because I love the flavor of garlic but not the texture.  Now add the tomatoes, oregano, salt and pepper.  Return to medium heat and cook down for about 5 minutes.  Put pizzaiola in bowl in warming drawer.
In same skillet heat a little more olive oil to medium heat.  Add vegan steak strips.  Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Brown steak strips.  This takes about 3 minutes.    Plate the steak strips with Pizzaiola drizzled on top.
This meal is really good served with Haricots Verts with Pizzaiola added on top of these French Style Green Beans and served with oven roasted Italian style potatoes.  See my other recipes.
About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

