Paula Dean’s Corn Casserole — Gone Vegan

Standard

Recently when I was driving home from Duke after serving as one of the Exhibiting artists for an event, Chris (my husband) and I stopped in Savannah to stay overnight.  We decided to do our own walking tour of Savannah.  It was a Tuesday night.  We stumbled upon Paula Dean’s Restaurant:  Lady & Sons.

We assumed there would not be availability, but thought what the heck, what do we have to lose.  Lo and below, they had availability in like 45 minutes.  It was so worth the wait.  I must confess that on this night I went vegetarian not vegan.  This Southern raised girl could not resist things like macaroni and cheese and corn bread casserole.  I considered it both a trip down memory lane and a way to do research.  Out of that experience will come a few experiments.  The first was making (and veganizing) corn bread casserole.  I think this recipe would make a great side at Thanksgiving.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 1/4 ounce) can of whole kernel corn, drained (Can also use frozen)
  • 1 (14 3/4 ounce) can of cream-style corn (read ingredients to make sure it is vegan)
  • At this point in the recipe Paula adds in 1 (8-ounce) package corn muffin mix (recommended:  Jiffy).  Because Jiffy is not vegan, I have added a recipe below so you can make your own corn muffin mix.  The dry ingredients of the recipe below are the equivalent of the package of corn muffin mix.  This recipe can also be used to make your own Golden Sweet Cornbread.
  • 1 cup of vegan sour cream (recommend Tofutti)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of vegan butter (like Earth Balance), melted
  • Optional:  1 to 1 1/2 cups of vegan cheddar shreds (recommend Daiya)
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
In large bowl, stir together corn, creamed corn, corn muffin mix, vegan sour cream, and vegan butter.  Pour into a greased 9 by 13 inch casserole dish.  Bake for 45 minutes, or until golden brown.  If using the vegan cheese, remove from oven and top with cheese.  Return to oven for 5 to 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.  (If not using cheese, leave corn casserole in oven for a total of 50 to 55 minutes.)  Let stand for at least 5 minutes.  Serve warm. (Please note that this recipe can be halved; just be sure to halve the corn muffin mix component, too.)

Golden Sweet Cornbread (For the Corn Muffin Mix component just mix the dry ingredients, the first 5 ingredients, from below and add in to the above recipe for Corn Casserole)
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 eggs worth of Ener-G egg replacer
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray a 9 inch round pan.  In large bowl combine flour, cornmeal, sugar salt, and baking powder.  Stir in wet ingredients (egg replacer, almond milk, and vegetable oil).  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake in a preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes.  You will know when it is done when you stick a toothpick (or knife) in, and when you pull it out it comes out clean.
About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

15 responses »

  1. Hi! This recipe looks amazing and I am excited to try it- for the corn casserole, do you add just the DRY ingredients of the corn muffin mix recipe? or the whole thing? So would I add almond milk and oil to my corn casserole? sorry, just a little confused

    • When making the Corn Bread Casserole just add the dry ingredients (to replace the dry jiffy corn bread mix in Paula’s recipe), the first 5 ingredients of the Golden Sweet Corn Bread NOT the wet ingredients. Hope this helps! Enjoy! You only use the wet ingredients when making the corn bread, itself.

  2. Our family makes the non-vegan version of this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Since going vegan, I had to modify it on my own. I searched today and was surprised to see vegan recipes for this on the web. I have used half a package of Bob’s Red Mill Cornbread mix instead of mixing up my own for convenience sake. But this year I will try to make the cornbread mix from scratch! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • Did you use 8oz of Bob’s mix to replace the Jiffy mix? It looks like this recipe for the vegan equivalent will end up being more than 8oz…but I have some of Bob’s that I’d like to use up first. I’m still learning and want to make sure I use the correct amount!

      • I use Jiffy (8.5 ounce box), which now has a vegan friendly version. Jiffy also has a nice sweetness that complements this recipe. I would imagine the same amount of dry ingredients in the Bob’s would also work. You just may need to consider how to add the sweetness factor, i.e. honey, sugar in the raw, agave, etc.

    • No, Carlos, I was unaware of that. Good to know. Thank you for the vegan corn meal recommendation. I would also recommend adding something to the cornmeal to sweeten it, i.e., stevia or sugar in the raw, because Jiffy is a sweet cornbread.

  3. Jiffy now has a dry mix labeled Vegetarian which is actually vegan. It does have some preservatives in it but easy if you’re out of corn meal or something else & rushed for time.

  4. Ever make this dish the day ahead? How did it turn out? Did you cook it all the way the day ahead and then just warm up on day of? What do you suggest?

    • You can always make it up the day before and just cook it the next day. If you put the mixture in a Corningware dish you can just put it straight in the oven, cold the next day. For any other dish, just put it in before you preheat the oven. Hope this helps!

  5. Thanks for posting this. For those who use honey, a drizzle of this (I sort of make a lattice pattern) on top of your corn casserole before baking is a wonderful addition. It helps it brown nicely and complements the flavors well…as added sweetness was suggested by the recipe author!

    • Both Krusteaz and Bob’s Red Mill make gluten free Corn Bread/Muffin Mix. I haven’t tried it, yet, but I would recommend just subbing one of those for the Jiffy. Hope this idea helps!

Leave a Reply

