Perfect Rice

Standard

There is something you should know about me.  I LOVE rice.  For the most part, I am good and eat brown rice cause it is très (as in very) healthy.  Yet there are some days when I need comfort food, and that comfort food is white rice.  When I was in college and living in London, I was living on not a lot of money.  Furthermore, I was saving what money I did have for musicals, travel, etc.  I practically lived on white rice — rice with soy sauce to be accurate.  It was cheap and filing.  And because of how active I was, I never had to worry about weight gain.  Well because I am an artist and money is tight, rice is still a good option.  Typically, now, I turn to brown rice.  Why brown?  Brown Rice is a whole grain.  It is chock full of minerals, nutrients, and fiber.  Also, check out black rice, wild rice, risotto, and other rice varieties.

My Aunt Margie, can make rice without even measuring.  She cooks it how I cook pasta — big pot of boiling water with rice.  This is one of the few things I cook where measuring is essential in order for me to have good rice.  I have perfected a full proof method for rice, and now I am sharing that with you.

Included in today’s post are recipes for both white and brown rice.  

White Rice:

  • 2 1/4 cups water
  • 1 cup rice
  • 1 1/2 tbsps. of Earth Balance (Vegan Butter)
  • Salt

Put all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.  (Make sure your bowl leaves enough room for rice to expand.) Leave uncovered.  Microwave on high for 5 minutes.  Then microwave for 17 minutes on 1/2 power.  Fluff with fork.  Then serve.  Serves 2.  This recipe might serve more in your family, but in our family this serves 2 ;o))

Brown Rice:

  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1 1/2 tbsps. of Earth Balance (Vegan Butter)
  • Salt

Put all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.  (Make sure your bowl leaves enough room for rice to expand.) Leave uncovered.  Microwave on high for 5 minutes.  Then microwave for 40 minutes on 1/2 power.  Let rice stand for 3 to 5 minutes.  Fluff with fork.  Then serve.  Serves 3 to 4

What do you do with leftover rice?  Check out my fried rice recipe.

On another note:  You can make Jasmine Rice using the White Rice Recipe and just substitute Jasmine Rice.  We have even made our own Jasmine Rice by infusing White Rice with Jasmine Tea.  In this case you would substitute Jasmine tea for the water.

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

