Asian Cucumber Salad

Standard

I grew up eating a lot of asian food.  My dad taught me to use chopsticks from a very early age.  No, we are not Asian, but we LOVE Asian food.  Whenever I make an Asian inspired meal, I love to have this refreshing and light Asian Cucumber Salad.  My mom always makes it when she makes my favorite meal, Hekka (a Japenese Hawaiann style stir fry).  Will have to post a vegan friendly version of Hekka, soon!

Asian Cucumber Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 Large Cucumbers
  • 1/3 cup of white rice vinegar
  • 4 tsps. of sugar in the raw
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 slices fresh ginger, finely diced
Take cucumbers and slice them in half lengthwise.  Core out the seeds.  Slice into thin beautiful “c” shapes.  Then marinate in the mixture of vinegar, sugar, salt, and ginger.  Chill in fridge in marinade for at least an hour.
Note:  If you do not have white rice vinegar you can use white vinegar diluted with a little water.
On another note, I went to a Japanese restaurant recently and had a variation on a Cucumber Salad.  The cucumbers were cut the same way but they were marinated in kimchi.  They were amazing and had a wonderful kick.

 

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

