Simple Black Beans over Brown Rice

Standard

 

Simple Black Beans over Brown Rice:

Yesterday was one of those days I needed to not have to worry too much about dinner.  So I decided on Black Beans.  It is the end of the pay period, so there was not much to work with in the cupboard and fridge.  So here is the recipe for simple black beans over brown rice.  Eventually, I will post the kicked up version of these.

Night before last I took 1/4 of a bag of dried black beans and soaked them, in water in a pot sitting on the counter, over night.  When I woke up yesterday, I poured off the water and then put the beans in the crock pot.

I took 1 1/2 cups of water and stirred in 1 1/2 teaspoons of Vegetable Better Than Boullion.

Then I added spices:  salt, pepper, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, and oregano.  I set the crock pot to high for the first 4 1/2 hours and then moved it to low for another 4 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.  I do a more complex version of this, but this recipe works for decent black beans.

In the last hour of cooking I made brown rice.  I make my brown rice in the microwave.

Brown Rice:

  • 1 cup Brown Rice
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • Salt
  • 1 tbsp. Earth Balance (Vegan Butter)

Put all ingredients in microwave safe bowl.  Microwave on high for 5 minutes.  Then microwave at 1/2 power for 40 minute.  Let stand for 3 to 5 minutes.  Fluff with fork.  Then serve.

 

Serving it all up:

Layer brown rice in the bottom of the bowl.  Then put black beans on tope of that.  Garnish with fresh diced tomatoes.

Other optional garnishes:  Cilantro (adds freshness and vibrancy) and Vegan Sour Cream/Plain Soy Yogurt (adds a nice creaminess to it).  If beans need some sweetness, matchstick raw carrots make a nice garnish that gives both sweetness and contrasting crunch.

In my crock pot, I had enough for dinner for me last night plus a serving left for lunch on another day.  There is enough rice to make a whole other meal like fried rice or jambalaya.

 

On another note:  I live with a meat loving carnivore.  Because of this I have a two vessel crock pot.  That way we can make his and hers black beans.  Only difference for his:  He had a 1/4 bags worth of black beans as well, plus all the same spices.  No better than bouillon for his.  Instead, added 1/2 a ham steak.

 

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

