Guacamole

Standard

I absolutely love avocados.  And they are actually good for you!  I have been making guacamole since I was in high school.  It is never quite the same because I never measure.  I just make it to taste.  I knew I was successful at guacamole when I lived for a summer in Costa Rica.  My host brother (16 years old, then) loved it and requested that I make it almost every afternoon.

Start with a ripe avocado.  (You can tell it is ripe when you can press it and it yields.  If it does not yield, it is not yet ripe.  Put it back in the windowsill to continue ripening.  If you shake it and hear the pit rolling it is REALLY ripe.  Eat immediately ;o))  Cut around avocado until you have cut it in half.  Take blade of knife and hit against the pit until it is wedged in the pit.  Spin pit and it will pop out.  Hold 1/2 of avocado in hand and make slices one way and then slices the other.  Turn peel inside out and slice under avocado to pop out diced pieces.  Mash avocado.  Roll a lemon or lime.  Cut lemon or lime in half.  Squeeze juice on tope of smashed avocado, taking care to not get any seeds.  Like I said, I don’t measure, but the other ingredients include:  fresh cilantro, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and a scoop of your favorite salsa. Mix altogether. Serve with blue corn tortilla chips (or your favorite tortilla chips). So yummy!  This guacamole goes great with the Crispy Chick’n Tacos or any night you are having a mexican fiesta!

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

One response »

Leave a Reply

