Fried Green Tomatoes

Standard

As we come to the end of summer, I am reminded of one of my favorite summer traditions, Fried Green Tomatoes.  Picture it.  It is a hot summer day.  My husband, Chris and I are traipsing around the tomato plants at a friend of ours farm.  We are picking both red and green tomatoes.  The aroma of tomatoes wafts in the air as the sun beats down.  Chris is giddy with the thought of fried green tomatoes.  We get the tomatoes home and wash them knowing soon they will be heavenly:  crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside, dipped in a spicy fun remoulade sauce.  Such a simple way to start a meal.  You cal also make them as a lunch.  These Fried Green Tomatoes are great served with a side salad of mixed greens with a homemade vinaigrette.

Here’s how we make them.  Before starting we whisk up the remoulade sauce (see below).  We get out the serving plates.  And we put paper towels on a plate.

Then we cook and play together.  We make our dredging stations.  And then we heat the oil.  We test the oil but sprinkling the cornmeal bread mixture in the oil.  When the crumbs dance the oil is ready.  I usually dredge and Chris fries.

For the tomatoes:

Ingredients:

  • Green Tomatoes
  • Whole Grain Flour
  • Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • White Vinegar (1 Tbsp per cup of almond milk)
  • Corn Meal
  • Vegan Bread Crumbs
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Take Green tomatoes. Cut in 1/2 inch slices.

Set up dredging station.

  1. 1st station: whole grain flour.
  2. 2nd station: unsweetened almond milk + vinegar ( to simulate butter milk)
  3. 3rd station: 1/2 corn meal 1/2 bread crumbs + salt and pepper.
Keep one hand for dipping in flour and milk mixture and other hand for 3rd station.

Fry in enough oil so oil goes 1/2 way up tomatoes. Flip when you see golden brown coloration on bottom half. Lightly salt when it comes out of the frier. Drain on the plate with the paper towels.  Serve immediately

For the simple remoulade:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Canola Oil
  • 1/4 cup of Lemon Juice
  • 2 tsp. Onion Powder
  • 2 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1/8 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 tbsp. prepared horseradish
  • 3 tbsp. Yellow Mustard
  • 3 tbsp.  Creole whole grain mustard
  • 3 tbsp. Ketchup

Put canola oil, lemon juice, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, horseradish, both mustards and ketchup in bowl and whisk together.

About Living Well

I am a vegan who loves food and loves life. Why am I vegan? Vegan living seemed to be a holistic way to live. Choosing to live as a vegan is helping me to live more environmentally conscious, more ethically, and more healthy. That said, I still wanted to be able to have foods that I loved. This site will be a place that I share ideas on living well and share vegan recipes. Some recipes are naturally vegan; other recipes I will take and veganize them. My influences in cooking are from my Granny (who is now 96 years old) who taught me how to make homemade buttermilk biscuits, syrup cookies, okra, and other southern comfort favorites; my mom, who knows how to host, and from living in places like London, Spain, and Costa Rica. When I am not cooking I am a professional artist. Cooking is just one more way I get to be creative. May these recipes inspire you, and may they always be delicious! P.S. If you want to check out my art, you can visit my website at: www.GraceWorksStudio.org.

Leave a Reply

